December 29, 2005

Danville unit wins national food service award
Connelly competition

Sgt. Stanley Anderson, a cook from Headquarters Battery, 1st Battalion, 246th Field Artillery, serves up a piece of chicken to a Soldier from the 3647th Maintenance Company. The Danville-based unit competed in the National Connelly Competition on November 19, 2005 at Fort Pickett. (Photo by Maj. Cotton Puryear, Virginia Guard Public Affairs Office) Click HERE to see more photos from the event.

FORT LEE, Va. - The Department of the Army and the Army Center for Excellence, Subsistence at Fort Lee announced on Dec. 21, 2005 that the 1st Battalion, 246th Field Artillery, Virginia Army National Guard from Danville, Virginia won the 2006 Philip A. Connelly Awards for Excellence in Army Food Service in the National Guard Field Kitchen category.

Gone are the days of the typical Army cook portrayed in movies on the silver screen. These professionally trained and dedicated Soldiers bring quality and exceptional services to our fighting men and women.

The Connelly program is named in honor of Philip A. Connelly, past president of the International Food Service Executives Association (IFSEA), highly regarded as the driving force behind obtaining IFSEA sponsorship for the Department of the Army’s recognition of excellence in Army food service.

The program is co-sponsored by the Department of the Army and IFSEA. IFSEA representatives participate in the evaluation of finalists in five dining facility categories - Small Garrison, Large Garrison, and field kitchens in the Active Army, U.S. Army Reserve and Army National Guard. U.S. Army Center of Excellence and Subsistence (ACES) and IFSEA evaluators traveled around the world during the past three months to obtain first-hand knowledge of how Army food service personnel perform their jobs.

All the finalists were evaluated in a number of areas including food preparation, taste, nutrition, service and sanitation. For this year’s competition, a total of 26 finalists were selected for evaluation.

The winners and runner-ups will be honored at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Miami on Saturday, April 8, 2006.

Click HERE to return to the top of the page ~ Click HERE to return to the news directory